One of the benefits of being a surrogate is that you get paid. Money is always something nice to get. But the money varies widely from state to state. For instance, in New York, the money is $10,000. The problem is that you don’t get that money; you have to pay it. That’s the fine for being a surrogate in New York.
The fine is even greater in Michigan – $50,000, which includes an all-expense-paid five year visit to the state penitentiary.
On the other hand, there are states that are friendly to surrogacy, such as Florida. Florida is one of 17 states with laws on surrogacy. In Florida, the amount a surrogate is paid is set out in legislation, and the exact amount depends on the circumstances.
Learn how much a surrogate is paid in Florida
For instance, there is a flat fee of $25,000 for a first-time surrogate to cover living expenses. For a repeat surrogate, that amount increases to $30,000 or more in some situations. Experience pays.
But that is not all a surrogate is paid in Florida. That is just the base to start with. There is also a post-delivery fee of $800. And all expenses related to the pregnancy are paid (vitamins, phone calls, childcare during related appointments, medical exams, transportation, etc.). There is also an allowance of $800 for maternity clothing.
Plus health and life insurance are covered for the period of the pregnancy.
If your partner attends medical appointments with you, some of his lost wages can also be recouped, up to $1,500, so you’ll have the support you need.
There are also some additional payments that you might receive, but most likely won’t. For instance, if the surrogacy ends in twins, you’ll recoup $4,000. If it ends in a C-section, you’ll recoup $3,000.
These are just some of the many payments you might be entitled to. The base fee is the main one, and out-of-pocket expenses are covered. Those are the two that really count.
Learn how much a surrogate is paid elsewhere
In other states, the amount is up in the air. In fact, in most states, the law is silent on surrogacy. It is not forbidden, but there are no laws governing it. So there are no laws or guidelines covering surrogate fees. A typical range is $10,000 to $40,000.
A worst case scenario is to become a surrogate in a state with no legal protection for you, and accept a low fee of $10,000. Much better is to go where the fees are higher. But be careful. If you get an offer of $50,000 where there is no legal protection, you are taking a huge risk.
If you are accustomed to being paid an average wage, or less, or you are currently a stay at home mom, the financial benefits of surrogacy will be quite attractive. Unless you try it in New York or Michigan, of course.Return to Blog